Your site for answers and general to do about dentistry and orthodontics

I am often surprised to see how dirty some kid’s teeth are.  I try to change their perspective on personal hygiene by making them aware they are getting closer to the age in which image matters.  That being said, I remind them that nobody wants to talk to someone with bad breath! yuk!!  I whisper, “A crush on a girl or guy is just around the corner and guess what?  You are not going to get points by having yesterday’s scrambled eggs on your braces”!

Adolescents are at the age where they care more and more what people think of them.  And I find a little perspective on how it affects their popularity and reputation help keep hygiene at the top of their list especially as they approach highschool.

-Dr Mendieta

Mendieta Orthodontics

Comments on: "Importance of tooth brushing for adolescents" (1)

  1. great information. i liked what you had to say and it makes sense!

Leave a comment